Outcome Based Assesment

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) transitioned to an Outcomes-Based Assessment (OBA) for Internationally Qualified Nurses and Midwives (IQNMs) who meet the AHPRA registration standards. With this new system, the bridging program has been now replaced by Outcomes-Based Assessment (OBA).

New Process - Nursing Registration

  • Stage 1 – Self Check

  • Stage 2 – IQNM Assessment Process

  • Stage 3 – Orientation

  • Stage 4 – NCLEX-RN (Multiple Choice Questions)

  • Stage 5 – OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Exam)

NCLEX-RN (Multiple Choice Questions)

The multiple-choice question (MCQ) exam assesses the candidate’s professional knowledge. There are separate exams for internationally qualified nurses and midwives (IQNMs) intending to register in Australia as a registered nurse (RN), enrolled nurse (EN), or midwife

The RN MCQ exam is the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN). The National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) develops and delivers the NCLEX-RN through Pearson VUE test centres in most countries.

(source: https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Accreditation/IQNM/Examination/Multiple-choice-question-exam.aspx)


OSCE (Objective Structured Clinical Exam)

The Objective Structured Clinical Exam (OSCE) is a clinical exam to assess the candidate’s knowledge, skills and competence at the graduate-level nurse or midwife from an Australian NMBA-approved program of study.